The Right to Bare Arms

Before summer is officially counted as over, I stocked up on a few of these! Here’s why…

First, it is 98 degrees in South Florida and with the weather the way it is, it almost feels like this temperature lasts year round. Secondly, I feel like most of my summer clothes look like I got stuck in my Jr. Year of High School. (Yes. Floral crop top, I am talking to you.)   I will always admit to following a trend or two, but this and fringe, are one of those that you always keep around because they always come and go. With trends from the runway making earlier debuts lately and with  NYFW this week, I’m going to go ahead and  predict that the cold shoulder trend will be continuing year round!

And so, my search began. If you’re anything like me, once there’s a particular look  embedded in the innermost part of your brain,  there is no doubt that you will go to the ends of the earth to find that certain piece.  Or in my case, you draw the line in West Palm Beach.  A few tacos in and two and a half hours of looking through what seems to be the island of misfit clothes or mid-season markdowns, I found myself in one of the most familiar places.

PLACE: Francesca’s.

*For those who don’t know, I used to work for one of their stores in Boca Raton.

Also, those of you wondering why I hadn’t come across certain pieces at my own store, every Francesca’s carries 6 or so items of the same piece and about 20% of the merchandise in every store is different. Definitely giving that boutique feel. There is ALWAYS a sale. And if there isn’t a sale going on the merchandise you want,  show your student ID and you get 10% off.

You’re welcome.

Digging through their merchandise, I found myself picking up a white Bardot top (pictured below) and a coral, cold shoulder lace top.

HOW TO STYLE:

  •  The white is a given. To complete a summer look, throw earthy tones and reds for more of bold look. To make an outfit pop (and low-key look like the french girl most of us wish we were), throw on a red classic bandana and paint-me-like-one-of your french girls Leo, cause your outfit is “achevée”- that’s complete in French.
  • Another way to style this  would be with my faaaaaavorite accessory right now and that is the bandana which have made their way into almost all the trendy storefronts you pass by after you’ve gotten your falafel samples.
  • TTOG About Me Picture

White Bardot Blouse- Francesca’s, Old Navy-Boyfriend Cut Jeans, Crown Vintage-Brown Block Heels

What was your favorite summer trend this year? Tell me in the comments below!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

